How to follow a Mastodon account with RSS

ldstephens
1 min readDec 13, 2022

--

As I recently wrote, “I’m on Twitter with a very narrow use case. I use it to market my blog and posts. I follow app developers of apps that I use to keep up with the latest information about their apps. And last for breaking news. That’s it!”

One of the app developers that I follow on Twitter is developer of BBEdit. The other day they tweeted that they would no longer be active on Twitter and to follow them on Mastodon.

I don’t plan to open a Mastodon account, so I thought that maybe I could follow a Mastodon account by RSS. Well, it turns out that I can. “You can follow any Mastodon account via RSS by just adding “.rss” to the end of the account’s public profile URL.” This is the RSS feed https://mastodon.social/@bbedit.rss to follow BBEdit on Mastodon. Source

As more accounts abandon Twitter for Mastodon, I’ll follow them by RSS in Reeder.

--

--

ldstephens

I'm ldstephens. I've been blogging about tech since 2015, sharing my insights on Apple and general tech. Subscribe: https://ldstephens.medium.com/subscribe